Ben F. Windham P.C., Henry County Car Accident Lawyer, exposes secrets of underinsured auto insurance in Georgia.

HENRY COUNTY, GA / ACCESSWIRE / September 28, 2020 / The Georgia legislature has codified minimum requirements for motor vehicle liability insurance policies under O.C.G.A. § 33-7-11. Any automobile liability policy in this state must have not less than $25,000.00 dollars because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one incident or $50,000.00 dollars because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one occurrence. In current economic times, $25,000.00 dollars is nowhere near enough insurance coverage for someone who is seriously injured in an automobile collision. Even minor collisions alone result in hospital visits for diagnostic testing and can result in more than $25,000.00 dollars in medical bills. This is not to mention that many injuries will put people out of work for some time, causing them to have a claim for lost wages.

It is very important due to the minimum required policy limits in this state that people have what is referred to as “uninsured” or sometimes “underinsured” motorist protection on their automobile insurance policy. While it is true that everyone should carry uninsured motorist protection, it is these types of policies that are the most unfair to insureds in the State of Georgia.

Until 2009, the secret of the insurance industry was that even if an insured paid for $25,000.00 dollars in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, they were only entitled to tap into that $25,000.00 dollars if the person that caused the collision in which they were injured had less than $25,000.00 dollars insurance coverage. In other words, if the person that hit you had $50,000.00 in insurance coverage and you had $25,000.00 in uninsured/underinsured insurance coverage, you would not